The Washington Trust for Historic Preservation, Fort Worden Collaborative, the Port Townsend School of Woodworking, and the Washington State Parks and Recreation Commission are working to establish an historic preservation field school at Fort Worden State Park, Port Townsend.
The Coast Artillery Museum was established to preserve and interpret
coast artillery history with special emphasis on the harbor defenses of
Puget Sound as they existed and functioned from the late 1800s to the
end of World War II. Among the collections and artifacts, visitors will
see a three-dimensional scale model of Battery Kinzie showing the
design and structure of the massive fortifications and the emplacements
for the two 12-inch disappearing guns that were kept in readiness for
possible attack from 1910 to 1943.
The Commanding Officer’s Quarters
is one of Fort Worden’s finest buildings. It was completed in April
1904, and many different families resided here. Located at the head of
Officers’ Row, the Commanding Officer’s Quarters overlooks Admiralty
Inlet, with Mt. Baker and the Cascades in the background. Late
Victorian and Edwardian furnishings provide a unique glimpse into the
life of a senior U. S. Army officer and his family in the first decade
of the 20th century.