Jazz Port Townsend Mainstage Preview: Saturday Afternoon, July 30


Starting on Thursday, July 28, and running through Saturday, July 30, Jazz Port Townsend transforms Port Townsend into a mecca for jazz. Fresh off a week of jazz education, the renowned artist/faculty take to the stage for mainstage performances in Fort Worden State Park's WWI-era McCurdy Pavilion, and for club performances in Port Townsend's historic downtown and uptown districts.

The Saturday afternoon mainstage set is a Festival favorite, with performances in the historic balloon hangar, and (weather permitting) lawn seating outside on Littlefield Green.

Saturday, July 30, 2011
1:30 PM, McCurdy Pavilion

The Gerald Clayton Trio with guest Joel Frahm

Celebrated by The L.A. Times for the “enthusiastic feeling of exhilaration (they bring to) everything they play,” pianist Gerald Clayton, bassist Joe Sanders, and drummer Quincy Davis represent the bright future of jazz. Joining them is tenor saxophonist Joel Frahm, a veteran of the New York scene and recognized by Downbeat as a rising star.

Sunny Wilkinson and guests

Vocalist Sunny Wilkinson is schooled in the tradition of Ella Fitzgerald and Sarah Vaughan, but finds equal inspiration in Chet Baker, Bill Evans, and Charlie Parker. Her dynamic performances are marked by technical brilliance, and showcase her deep respect for the great traditions of vocal jazz. Sunny is joined by Randy Halberstadt, piano; Tom Wakeling, bass; and Byron Vannoy, drums.

The Centrum All-Star Big Band, featuring the Music of Bill Holman with guest soloist Paquito D’Rivera

NEA Jazz Masters Live and Centrum present Grammy winning composer/arranger Bill Holman and the debut of his newest composition, written to feature the talents of Paquito D’Rivera. Join John Clayton and the Centrum All-Star Big Band for this historic world premiere.

NEA Jazz Masters Live is a program of the National Endowment for the Arts in partnership with Arts Midwest that celebrates the living legends who have made an exceptional contribution to the advancement of jazz.

The Centrum Faculty All-Star Big Band

Bill Holman, director; John Clayton, guest director; Paquito D'Rivera, clarinet soloist; Mark Taylor, alto I; Bill Ramsey, alto II; Pete Christlieb, tenor I; Travis Ranney, tenor II; Gary Smulyan, bari sax; Brad Allison, trumpet; Jay Thomas, trumpet; Jim Sisko, trumpet; Thomas Marriott, trumpet; Gary Shutes, trombone; Dan Marcus, trombone; David Marriott, trombone; Greg Schroeder, bass trombone; Bruce Forman, guitar; Doug Miller, bass; Jeff Hamilton, drums.