Jazz articles


Grace Kelly Joins Jazz Port Townsend Faculty

Grace Kelly Joins Jazz Port Townsend Faculty

A regular on The Late Show with Stephen Colbert’s band, Stay Human, Grace Kelly graduated from the Berklee College of Music in 2011 with a degree in professional music. She has taught residency workshops since 2012. That year also brought another important opportunity to pass on her musical knowledge: the U.S. State Department sent her


Jeff Hamilton: Bringing Swing to the Drums

We’re excited to welcome back drummer Jeff Hamilton to Jazz Port Townsend in 2016. He joins an impressive artist faculty for the weeklong Jazz Port Townsend Workshop. Register online for Jazz Port Townsend Originality is what Jeff brings to the groups he performs with and is one of the reasons why he is constantly in demand,


Terell Stafford Leads SJRO; Centrum Supporters Get Discount

Trumpeter extraordinaire, the brilliant Terell Stafford leads the Seattle Repertory Jazz Orchestra in three February concerts, and Centrum supporters can get a 25 percent discount on tickets by using the code SRJOLOVESCENTRUM. The shows are set for 7:30 p.m. Thursday, Feb. 18, at the Edmonds Center for the Arts, 7:30 p.m. Saturday, Feb. 20 at

2016 Jazz Port Townsend

Registration Underway for 2016 Jazz Port Townsend

Registration is underway for the weeklong 2016 Jazz Port Townsend workshop. Artistic Director John Clayton has hand-picked faculty who are outstanding both as performers and teachers. They’ll inspire you with their playing, and then work with you directly to develop your own skills. You’ll receive focused instruction as you rehearse daily in combos or vocal


Wayne Horvitz Septet Honors Richard Hugo

An Evening of Music and Poetry 7:30pm, October 7, 2015 Wheeler Theater, Fort Worden, Port Townsend, WA Produced by Centrum and Copper Canyon Press Known for his multifaceted musical personality, composer/musician Wayne Horvitz ventures into progressively‑inclined acoustic jazz and ultra‑modern classicism in his latest project, Some Places Are Forever Afternoon. Written in honor of the iconic

Regina Carter and Friends perform on the Mainstage at the 2015 Port Townsend Jazz Festival.
Regina Carter, violin;
Benny Green, piano;
John Clayton, bass;
Alvester Garnett, drums

Listen to Regina Carter’s Jazz Port Townsend Performance September 13

Violinist Regina Carter demonstrated her varied training and experience during her concert at Centrum’s 2015 Jazz Port Townsend festival. The concert, which will air exclusively on 88.5 KPLU and kplu.org on Sunday September 13, 2015 at 2 PM Pacific, includes standards and blues, African music and an original by her drummer Alvester Garnett. Also joining Regina Carter